What does freedom look like for you?

Nancy Nunez
2 min readAug 27, 2021

--

If you had the freedom to work for the career of your dreams, what would it be? That is something that has been lingering in my mind. The more I think about it. The more I smile. The more I take action in what I love to do without hesitation.Writing. My love for writing began in my childhood. I would always get excited to see a blank page, take my pen and just write. Growing up as a shy and quiet kid, writing was my safe place to express myself with no judgements or limitations. My imagination was endless.

Photo by Bianca Ackermann on Unsplash

I’ve had other jobs, working in a food restaurant, retail stores, babysitting, going to a trade tech college to become a certified LVN (licensed vocational nurse) and working in the medical field for over 10 years. They all have been great but nothing compares to the way writing has made me feel.

There’s a saying by an amazing writer and best selling author Natalie Goldberg I came across recently. It goes like this :

“There is freedom in being a writer and writing. It is fulfilling your function. I use to think freedom meant doing whatever you want. It means knowing who you are, what you are suppose to be doing on this earth, and then simply doing it. It is not getting sidetracked.“

I feel that way about writing. It has been my natural passion without thinking twice about it. I write to express. I write to understand. I write because it makes me happy. I write because it challenges me. I write to learn. I write to evolve. I write to inspire. I write because I can.

If you are feeling stuck or unsure where to go from where you are, maybe go back to your why, or what you naturally gravitated to as a child. It does not have to necessarily be writing. It can be anything that is more aligned with who you are. Your values and integrtiy. Not all hobbies have to be careers but I do believe there can be some connection with something you’ve enjoyed or enjoy doing that ties into your passions. Life is too short to be living it unfulfilled and not doing what you enjoy.

--

--

Nancy Nunez

Enjoy writing about personal growth and self- awareness. My poetry books are available on Amazon. www.nancynunez.com